Top menu

| Growers Section

NZAC Executive Meeting March 2017 Minutes

NEW ZEALAND ASPARAGUS COUNCIL EXECUTIVE MEETING 14 MARCH 2017 HORTICULTURE NEW ZEALAND BOARDROOM, LEVEL 4, 20 BALLANCE STREET, COOPERATIVE BANK BUILDING, WELLINGTON  MINUTES Present: Tony Rickman (Chair) Waikato Mike Arnold South Island Lindsay Kay Hawkes Bay Sam Rainey South West North Island Tom Cooney Export market representative Marcus Turner Domestic market representative Eve Williams Business […]

Continue Reading

Levy payment reminder

Please remember that the last date for payment of your compulsory levy is 28 February 2017 to avoid a 10% late payment penalty fee. If you would like a new copy of the levy declaration form which were posted out in October 2016, or if you did  not receive yours, please email Eve on

Continue Reading

Horticulture New Zealand Life Membership awarded to Asparagus Grower Geoff Lewis

The dedication and contribution to industry of Levin asparagus grower Geoff Lewis was acknowledged at the Horticulture Conference Awards Dinner on Thursday 4 August. Geoff was awarded Life Membership of Horticulture New Zealand. The Life Membership of Horticulture NZ is awarded to persons that have provided distinguished and honourable services to Horticulture NZ and continues for […]

Continue Reading

Aspire Asparagus Lite – decision support for asparagus growers

Article by Warrick Nelson, Plant and Food Research. The Aspire Asparagus app is derived from extensive physiological analysis of the asparagus annual growth cycle. During this process, a key finding was that carbohydrate content of the root system provides information useful for making general crop management decisions about how to manage fern growth and spear […]

Continue Reading