Top menu

About us

New Zealand’s Asparagus Industry

Our asparagus industry has around 35 asparagus growers. The main growing regions are Waikato, Canterbury, South West North Island and Hawke’s Bay.

Asparagus Council Contacts 

The NZ Asparagus Council is comprised of elected growers from each region.  It also has representatives from the fresh domestic and export markets. Members are elected annually from their respective regional association.

NZAC Strategy

The NZAC Executive updated its strategy in 2019.  NZAC’s vision is asparagus is profitable, sustainable and valued by consumers.

NZAC’s mission is to enhance the value of asparagus for consumers.

Key activity areas for our strategic plan are effective market promotion; research & development;  labour; communication; and export support.

You can download a one-page overview here.

Conference and AGM

The Asparagus Council holds its Annual General Meeting between May and August each year.

Commodity Levy

The Council is funded through a compulsory commodity levy which is $200/ha of planted asparagus (+GST). Growers pay this levy annually. The levy declaration form is sent to growers in October each year with payment due by February.